top of page

Encouragement vs. Dedication

Today I was faced with a time dilemma known as the deadline. Normally a set date in the future to have something completed. Up until now, I’ve only set my own. My personal deadline of bi-weekly writings that I was ready to sacrifice today in favor of another project. This may be more my own personality, but I’ve always been more willing to favor others’ expectations or requirements rather than my own. When I’m the only one holding me to my personal commitments I’m more willing to let them slip. Today’s post is late, it's not very deep in thought because it wasn’t planned weeks ahead of time like some of the other thoughts I’m working on. Yet here I am, keeping the commitment I made to myself.


I’ve often wished I had mentors earlier in life, that would sow wisdom and encouragement in me and my gifts. They’ve been few and far between, when I have had that person in my life, I’ve always expected my life to change. I


wanted them to change my life, hold my hand, do the hard work for me. I wanted encouragement to be enough. The magic words. When in truth I was needing dedication to my craft. Only you can dedicate your life to something. Encouragement is that cool drink of water in the middle of a foot race that no one forces you to start. Funnily enough, if you do drink too much water before starting a run, you get cramps, take more breaks, it’s a rougher beginning. If you have an idea, a passion, a personal deadline; go make it happen don't wait for permission!


This may contradict some thoughts from my previous post about needing other people. Yet I believe it's important to know both. It’s a personal balance we all must find in our work and creations. When to start and when to rest. When to take i


nitiative and when to receive feedback. The bottom line is you can’t receive feedback on something you haven’t done. We all must take that risk of action before knowing, especially in our personal creativity.


May we all find that lifelong dedication to a craft that fulfills our souls and the souls around us.


May we all find in the everyday people around us the courage and wisdom to share, receiving wholesome feedback.


Z, Moss

bottom of page